

COMPOSITION COMPETITION WINNERS

1996

SOLO DIVISION

Honorable Mention (no grand prize was awarded): Luis Jorge Gonzalez, *Tango Sonata*

CHAMBER DIVISION

Honorable Mentions (no grand prize was awarded): Jon Grier, *Significant Others* David P. Jones, *Walla Walla Suite*

1998

SOLO DIVISION GRAND PRIZE

Nicholas Walker, *Eulogy Alien Dance Games* Honorable Mentions: Frederick Anthony Charlton, *Duo Fantastique* Sean McClowry, *Parting the Waters*

> Special Mentions: Evan Chambers, *Fisherstreet Duo* Rebecca Keil, *The Dark Knight* Dubravko Palnovic, *Poem*

ENSEMBLE DIVISION GRAND PRIZE Franz Pillinger, *Quintet sur le nom del maitre Gary Karr*

2000

Judges Robert Black (chair), Hans Sturm and Joe Guastafeste

SOLO DIVISION GRAND PRIZE

Carlos Mastropietro, En Una Cara Honorable Mentions: Nick Akers, Gyre James Kachulis, Brazilian Bass Baio Deborah Mason, Fantasia after Alberto Ginastera Lewis Neilsen, Duo Concertant (Danger Man) Franz Pillinger, Berceuse Pre-Natal and Little Dragon's Flight-Dance Andrei Semenov, Vocalizzo Stefan Shafer, Sul A "One is not always the one that one wishes to be" Alex Shapiro, Of Bow and Touch Daniel Walker, Gallery

CHAMBER DIVISION

Honorable Mention (no Grand Prize awarded in this division): Jan Alm, *Quartet for Doublebasses No. 2*

2002

Judges Robert Black (chair), Hans Sturm and Fausto Borem

SOLO DIVISION GRAND PRIZE

Peter Askim, *Eight Solitudes*Honorable Mentions:
Thomas Allin of Vienge, Sweden - *Vattenmusik*Stephen Anderson of Denton, Texas - *Enclosures*Francisca Aquino of Brasilia, Brazil - *Sweet Suite*Mara Gibson of Metairie, Louisiana - *November 3rd*Luis Jorge Gonzales of Longmont, Colorado - *Chacona Tangante*

CHAMBER DIVISION

Patrick Neher, *Suite Pou Sto* for bass, violin and piano Honorable Mentions: Timothy Brown of New York, NY - *Epitaph (Four Songs on Poems of Dorothy Parker)* David DeSoucey of Oberlin, Ohio - *TRAANS* John McLaird of Greeley, Colorado - *Self Portrait*

BASS AND ELECTRONIC MEDIA

JoAnn Kuchera-Morin, *Paleo* for bass and computer-generated tape Honorable Mention: Ruth Mengersen of Berlin, Germany - *Ja'el*.

2004

Judges Robert Black (chair), Hans Sturm and Quirijn Van Regteren Altena

CHAMBER DIVISION

Kurt Rohde, *Three Fantasy Pieces* Honorable Mentions: Peter Alexander, *Headlock* Joseph Kolkovich, *Silent Tears of Fathers* Richard Ellis, *The Rings of Yggdrasill*

BASS AND ELECTRONIC MEDIA Jason Bolte, *Forgotten Dreams* Honorable Mention: Charles Mason, *Thimblerigger*

SOLO DIVISION Dorothy Hindman, *Time Management*, and Glenn Stallcop, *Vision Quest*, co-winners

Honorable Mentions: Sheila Silver, *Chant* David DeSoucey, *Design* **2006** Judges Robert Black (chair), Jeremy Baguyos and Dan Styffe

SOLO DIVISION Jordan Anderson, *Drafts*

> Honorable Mentions: Troy Centofanto, *Caduceus* Timothy Goplerud, *Three Moods*

CHAMBER DIVISION Randolph Partain, *Kelevsma*

> Honorable Mentions: Dawn Chambers, *Cante* Garrett Hope, *Shame*

BASS AND ELECTRONIC MEDIA

Honorable Mention: Jon Anderson, *Lusemore*

2008

Judges Robert Black (chair), Owen Lee and Yann Dubost

SOLO DIVISION Peter Fischer, Sonata for Contrabass and Piano

> Honorable Mention: Jordan Anderson, *Daydreams and Dances* Stephen Feigenbaum, *Escape Velocity*

CHAMBER DIVISION Katarzyna Brochocka, *Chamber Music*

> Honorable Mention: Andres Martin, *Prelude and Fugazza*

BASS AND ELECTRONIC MEDIA Garth Stevenson, *Grandfather* Benjamin Taylor, *FE 26*

2010

Judges Robert Black (chair), Gottfried Engels and Garth Stevenson

SOLO DIVISION Matthew Kline, Fragments for Solo Double Bass Honorable Mention: Chia-Yu Hsu, Serenity and Agility Nejc Kuhar, Svašta - Everything is Possible Marcin Stańczyk, Three Afterimages for Solo Double Bass

CHAMBER DIVISION

Keitaro Takahashi, Oboro Honorable Mention: Bin Li, Lake 1B11 Stephen Yip, Hundun David Miguel, Scordabasso Liza White, Tango

BASS AND ELECTRONIC MEDIA

Jeff Greene, *The Range of Their Vision* Honorable Mention: McGregor Boyle, *Yahaney Inlet*

2012

Judges Robert Black (chair), Jory Herman and Irina-Kalina Goudeva

SOLO DIVISION

Jean-Christophe Rosaz, *Chiaroscuro (solo double bass)* Honorable Mention: Bin Little, *Cursive (double bass and piano)* Peio Cabalette, *Amber (double bass and piano)* William Wasson, *Three Concert Etudes in Scordatura (solo double bass)*

CHAMBER DIVISION

Jenna Lyle, Breathpiece (amplified voice, cello and double bass) Honorable Mention: Jeffrey Prater, A Perplexing Question (flute, oboe, violin, viola and double bass) David Garner, Miracles...Not Math (double bass and harp) Simon Garcia, Concertino No. 1 (solo double bass and bass quartet)

MEDIA DIVISION

Jeff Greene, Marrow (solo double bass and electronics) Honorable Mention: Sebastiano Dessanay, Noise (double bass, voice and electronics)

2014

Judges Robert Black (chair), Jeffrey Weisner and Szymon Marciniak

SOLO DIVISION (Bert Turetzky Prize)

Shang Lu, *The Fantasy Higgs Boson* (double bass and piano) Honorable Mention:
Fernanda Aoki Navarro, *Too Big for the Door* (solo bass) Nicola Straffelini, *Homage a Xenakis* (solo bass)

CHAMBER DIVISION

Dag Gabrielsen, 4/4 (bass quartet) Jeff Greene, *Ghosts* (clarinet, 2 guitars, bass) Honorable Mention: Andrew Austin, *Medusa's Lament and Dance* (flute, cello, bass) Hunter Ewen, *Pink Mountains* (two basses) Shoryu Itazu, *Kabocha Compressions* (flute and bass) **2016** Judges Robert Black (chair), Susan Cahill and Karol Kowal

SOLO DIVISION

No prize awarded

Honorable Mention: Don't Be Shy by Larry Rubin, Somerville, Massachusetts, USA

CHAMBER DIVISION

Katherine Balch, *Vidi l'angelo nel marmo* (for soprano and double bass) Honorable Mention:
Benoit Fortier, *Trois Pieces* (for oboe and double bass)
Luis Augusto da Fonseca, *Mandelbrot Sonata* (for double bass and piano)

BASS ENSEMBLE DIVISION

Benjamin Morris, Bright Light at Russell's Corner (double bass quintet) Honorable Mentions:
Greg Chudzik, Wind Hymnal (double bass quartet) Wan Jianguo, For Three Double Basses (double bass trio)

2018

Judges Jeremy Baguyos (chair), Cody Takacs and Paul Cannon

SOLO DIVISION Caroline Louis Miller, *Hydra Nightingale* (solo bass)

CHAMBER DIVISION Tony Solitro, *Shadow Confrontations* (string quintet)

BASS ENSEMBLE Robert Gibson, *Soundings* (bass quartet)

BASS AND ELECTRONIC MEDIA Luis Augusto Da Fonseca, *Hometown* (bass, video and electronics)

2020

Judges Jeremy Baguyos (chair), Kathryn Schulmeister and Stephen Tramontozzi

SOLO DIVISION

Rodrigo Mata Alvarez, *In Memoriam* (solo bass) Honorable Mention: Adam Goodwin, *Valley of Dry Bones* (solo bass)

CHAMBER DIVISION

Gregg August, Stand Up With Me (voice, bassoon, double bass and piano) Honorable Mentions:
Jeff Manookian, Sonata for Double Bass and Piano Nicholas Walker, Sonata for Bass & Piano BASS ENSEMBLE Gregg August, Scordatura Armonica per tre (inventions for three tunings) bass trio

BASS AND ELECTRONIC MEDIA João Pedro Oliveira, *Bass on Fire*

2022

Judges Jeremy Baguyos (chair), Patricia Weitzel and John Dahlstrad

SOLO DIVISION Max Winningham, *Tabula Rasa* (solo double bass) Honorable Mention: Joel Braun, *Awake* (solo double bass)

CHAMBER DIVISION Robin Haigh, *Kalimotxo* (clarinet, harp and double bass) Honorable Mention: Javier Martinez Campos, *Sonatina for Double Bass and Piano*

BASS ENSEMBLE Rodrigo Mata Alvarez, *Ecos de Viaje* (bass sextet) Honorable Mention: Justin Writer, *A Night in Istanbul* (bass quartet)

BASS AND ELECTRONIC MEDIA No prize awarded