2019 ISB Award Honorees

Click here to see a list of past ISB Award winners.

To read about the ISB Awards procedures, click here.

Edgar Meyer

Distinguished Achievement Award

The International Society of Bassist's Distinguished Achievement Award is given biennially for a lifetime of accomplishment. It is the ISB's highest honor, and we are proud to announce the recipient of our 2021 Distinguished Achievement Award, Edgar Meyer.(Photo credit: Jim McGuire)

Edgar began studying bass at age five with his father and continued with Stuart Sankey. He is the winner of numerous awards, including a 2002 MacArthur Award, and is the first bassist to receive the Avery Fisher Career Grant (1994) and the Avery Fisher Prize (2000).

Equally renowned as a performer and composer, Edgar made his Boston Symphony Orchestra debut with Seiji Ozawa conducting in his Double Concerto with Yo-Yo Ma. Among many other recordings, he collaborated with Mr. Ma and Mark O'Connor on Appalachia Waltz and Appalachian Journey on the Sony Classical label, where he is an exclusive artist) and toured the United States, Europe, and Asia with the trio. Edgar's Violin Concerto, written for Hilary Hahn, was premiered and recorded in 1999.

He frequently performs and composes for music festivals, including Santa Fe, Aspen, Tanglewood, Caramoor, Chamber Music Northwest, and Marlboro. Edgar is an artist member of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center and a visiting professor at the Royal Academy of Music. He joined the faculty of the Curtis Institute of Music in 2003.

Special Recognition Awards

Every two years the International Society of Bassists recognizes those who have contributed their special skills, knowledge, projects and other positive works in furthering the ISB's mission to Inspire, Educate and Connect. Our 2021 Special Recognition Award honorees are:

  • CompositionTony Osbourne (posthumous)
  • LutherieJames Ham
  • ScholarshipShanti Nachtergaele
  • TeachingJeff Bradetich
  • Solo PerformanceBoguslaw Furtok, Christine Hoock and Edicson Ruiz
  • Jazz PerformanceMiroslav Vitous
  • Orchestral PerformanceJoseph Conyers and Scott Pingel
  • Historically Informed PerformanceChi-chi Nwanoku
  • Young Bassist AmbassadorGaelen McCormick

Thanks to our 2021 Awards Committee

John Schimek, Chair
Paul Ellison
Barry Green
Johnny Hamil
Gary Karr
Andrew Kohn
Barrie Kolstein
Douglas Mapp
Andres Martin
Heather Miller Lardin
Brian Perry

Previous ISB Award Recipients