2023 ISB Award Honorees

Click here to see a list of past ISB Award winners.

To read about the ISB Awards procedures, click here.

Harold Hal Robinson
Joseph Conyers, now principal bass of The Philadelphia Orchestra, presents principal bass emeritus Harold "Hal" Robinson with the 2023 ISB Distinguished Achievement Award.
(Photo by Janet Robinson)
(Click on the image to see a high-resolution version of the photo.)

Distinguished Achievement

The International Society of Bassist's Distinguished Achievement Award is given biennially to recognize a lifetime of accomplishment. It is the ISB's highest honor, and we are proud to announce the 2023 recipient, Harold "Hal" Robinson.

Harold "Hal" Robinson joined The Philadelphia Orchestra as principal bass in 1995 and held that position until his retirement in 2022. Hal previously served as principal bass with the National Symphony (1985-95), assistant principal bass of the Houston Symphony (1977-85), and principal bass of the New Mexico Symphony, then known as the Albuquerque Symphony (1975-77). He was a prizewinner at the 1982 Isle of Man Double Bass Competition, and has performed concertos with The Philadelphia Orchestra, the Houston Symphony and Houston Pops, the New York Philharmonic, the American Chamber Orchestra, and the Greenville (South Carolina) Orchestra.

A native of Houston, Texas, Hal studied at Northwestern University and the Peabody Conservatory, and has given recitals and masterclasses around the world. He has commissioned and co-commissioned new works for the bass, including David Anderson's Concerto for Double Bass, Harp & Strings, and Ellen Taaffe Zwilich's Quintet for Violin, Viola, Cello, Contrabass and Piano. Hal joined the faculty of the Curtis Institute of Music in 1995, and also serves on the faculty of The Juilliard School.

Special Recognition Awards

Every two years the International Society of Bassists recognizes those who have contributed their special skills, knowledge, projects and other positive works in furthering the ISB's mission to Inspire, Educate and Connect. Our 2023 Special Recognition Award honorees are:

  • CompositionNicholas Walker
  • LutherieSusan Lipkins
  • ScholarshipHeather Miller Lardin
  • TeachingLinda McKnight
  • Solo PerformanceLorraine Campet
  • Jazz PerformanceLinda May Han Oh
  • Orchestral PerformanceEdicson Ruiz
  • Historically Informed PerformanceHeather Miller Lardin
  • Young Bassist AmbassadorJohnny Hamil
  • Special Merit Joseph Conyer

Thanks to our 2023 Awards Committee

Hans Sturm, Chair
Lynn Hannings
Jason Heath
Larry Hurst
Larry Hutchinson
David Murray
Shanti Nachtergaele
Rufus Reid
Tracy Rowell
Lynn Seaton
Maggie Urquhart

Previous ISB Award Recipients